Heresy or Hearsay?

April 24, 2007 at 9:43 pm 4 comments

I have been amazed by the many blogs I see condemning people for their opinions. What some people label as heresy is merely hearsay, for they are drawing conclusions without getting all the facts. Why do we spend so much time trying to prove others wrong? What is it that drives some of us to need to be right? What right do we have to judge another, let alone condemn? Where is the love?

My daughter recently downloaded a song called, “Where is the love?” Here’s the lyrics for the chorus:

People killin’, people diein’,
Children hurt and ya hear them cryin’
Can you practice what you preach?
And don’t you turn the other cheek.

Father, Father, Father help us
Send some guidance from above
Cuz people got me, got me questionin’

Where is the love? (love, the love)
Where is the love? (the love)
Where is the love? (the love)
Where is the love the love the love?

So, where is the love? When we who know the most amazing and powerful love alive choose to spend our time bullying one another and hurting each other with our words instead of spending our time building each other up and helping one another change the world, we are to be pitied.

I have been criticized for my simplistic view at times, but I have seen love cover many things, I have seen love change me and others, I have seen the power of love make a difference in the world. Let us unite our hearts and voices to speak of love and change our world into a better place.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Neighborhood Mission Learning Today Holy Human Hybrid

4 Comments

  • 1. jsmunroe  |  March 27, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    I am a postmodern Christian. Simply saying that gets loads of judgement before anyone even asks me any questions about it. Its prejudice, plain and simple. And my brothers and sisters in the Church are guilty of it just as much as the world. So am I. I am postmodern because I have discovered how modernity has harmed both the Church and the gospel. But I firmly believe in rule of faith, the divinity of Christ, and the truth and power of the Gospel. Its really a matter of human nature. We automatically make judgements about one another even if only on a subconscious level. Blogging on the other hand, well that’s totally sinful (http://vagabondsaint.blogspot.com)

  • 2. Elizabeth Chapin  |  March 28, 2012 at 9:53 am

    I agree, we automatically make judgements even if only on a subconscious level, but I think there is a difference between the judgements that help us discern difference and the judgements that condemn. Thanks for linking to your sinful blog – good stuff!

  • 3. jsmunroe  |  March 28, 2012 at 10:09 am

    I certainly wasn’t excusing it. Just trying to explain it. I’m just saying that I think prejudice is a common thread in our psyche; perhaps a manifestation of the flesh. My wife once told me, “everybody is racist”. The idea took me aback because at the time, i was questioning whether racism actually still existed. I now believe that whole heatedly; both that it exists and it is in everybody. I don’t actually believe that there is such a thing as race. But I do believe that we are all fundamentally prejudice. And prejudice isn’t bad in itself. Its the pejorative and segregatory forms of prejudice that are sinful. The form you mentioned in your entry above is the pejorative form. The form that ignorantly and boastfully proclaims heresy. Isn’t that a form of heresy in itself? That would be ironic.

  • 4. Words of The BrideGroom  |  June 23, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    Elizabeth…

    Great words from the Holy Spirit. I have something on my blog called “Little foxes” that may interest you that is along the same lines.http://wordsofthebridegroom.wordpress.com/

    For the fame and reputation of Jesus
    Julianna

Trackback this post


Sign Up for Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Youth Ministry Conference

Speaking on October 26th at:

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations