True Confessions of a Messie

August 5, 2007 at 4:28 pm

Ever since the day I got married, I have felt a certain pressure (not put on my by me husband, but by my own imaginations of cultural expectations) to be neater than when I lived on my own. And then the kids came. Talk about a mess – especially by the time we had four kids five and under 🙂 OK, so that only lasted for a month until our oldest turned six, but small kids and messes seem to go hand in hand – unless you’re a neat freak and plan to spend all your time picking up after others. NOT!

So, I am not a neat freak – but my step-mom was, and my grandma was pretty tidy. I learned some useful cleaning skills from both and have a natural inclination for creating organized systems, but for some reason I balk against the cultural idea that cleanliness is next to godliness or that neatness is necessary for a healthy, functioning family. A certain amount of disorder is not only unavoidable, I believe it can create an environment for healthy freedom of expression and individuality.

I recently had a book recommended to me called A Perfect Mess: The Hidden Benefits of Disorder. So far it has been a refreshing read. After all the years of putting myself under pressure to be neat and organized, I am starting to shed the guilt and same of my personal disorder and accept my disorderliness as potentially positive thing instead of a part or me that needs to be put off, irradicated, or exorcised.

So, hear my true confession – I am a messie. Before you judge me – take a look at the those who share my proclivity for disorderliness: Albert Einstein, Arnold Swarzeneger and many, many people in acadamia as well as some who rank high on genius scale. Perhaps once I get passed my own fear of being rejected for my messines and allow myself to live with a little disorder, my true genius will come out 🙂 But then again, I may just end up being an ordinary messy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

VBS, VBC, or VB Whatever – What do you do during Summer Vacation? Weekly or Daily Blogging


Sign Up for Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Youth Ministry Conference

Speaking on October 26th at:

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations