Are you offended?

August 7, 2007 at 5:03 pm

I recently had a conversation with my sister-in-law and was telling her a little about my plans to go to seminary and my interest in the emerging church. She asked, “Do you think conservative Christians are offended?” I replied, “By me personally?” She said, “Yes.” To which I answered, “You bet! I have some friends who have even been called heretics! The emerging church is quite a controversial topic within christendom.”

In the New Testament I don’t read much about tax collectors and sinners being offended by the Pharisees, but time and again the Pharisees seem to be offended by Jesus hanging out with tax collectors and sinners. In Matthew 11:18-19 we read Jesus commenting on the judgments of the Pharisees, “John the Baptist did not go around eating and drinking, and you said, ‘That man has a demon in him!’ But the Son of Man goes around eating and drinking, and you say, ‘That man eats and drinks too much! He is even a friend of tax collectors and sinners.’ Yet Wisdom is shown to be right by what it does.”

“Wisdom is shown to be right by what it does.”

My desire is to be wise. Not to be right or prove others wrong, but to be wise and trust “rightness” will be shown by what I do. I hope to be wise by following the example of Jesus and being a friend of sinners, seeking and saving that which is lost, offering health to the sick. I am not seeking to purposefully offend anyone, only to follow the way of wisdom, the way of Jesus.

So, if others are offended by the actions of some of those in the emerging church, I would ask – why are you offended?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Weekly or Daily Blogging Prayereography


Sign Up for Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Youth Ministry Conference

Speaking on October 26th at:

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations