S#*! Happens

May 18, 2008 at 5:07 pm 4 comments

My computer is precious to me. I wanted a laptop for a very long time. I finally got one, then another, then another. I think I’ve put on at least 15 pounds since I got a laptop. It’s so easy to just sit around and surf the web, read blogs, do school work, keep in touch over email, download music, … Until Friday.

I finally decided to upgrade my operating system. I carefully backed up my data. Then I installed the new operating system. It didn’t take too long and no data was lost during the upgrade – YEAH! I was looking forward to playing with all the new, cool stuff with my new OS, but my kids were begging me to straighten their hair. So, I was sitting in the family room organizing files on my laptop while we were watching TV together. I put my daughter off for a little while then closed my laptop and set it on the coffee table – right next to my drink. BIG MISTAKE! Before I knew it, my daughter was on the ground getting ready for me to straighten her hair and she bumped the coffee table – and my drink toppled over right next to my laptop!

The laptop was closed, so I hoped nothing got damaged. We wiped up the mess, wiped off the laptop and set it in a safer place. I went on to the business of straightening her hair. It only takes about 30 minutes. A while after her hair was done, I opened my laptop and it wouldn’t wake from sleep. CRAP! I’m sure you can guess what the problem was. Well, I took the laptop in to the Genius Bar the next day and they were so slow they were able to start working on it right away. It wasn’t long before I got the call. Sorry, there was water damage. It’ll cost you about $900 to fix it.

You know that sinking feeling you get inside when you hear bad news, or you realize you forgot something important, or you just discovered you totally messed something up? Yeah, that’s the feeling I had at that moment. I called my husband to tell him the bad news. We prayed about it before I left the house, but our prayers were not answered in the positive. This repair was going to cost us.

We decided not to pay the retail price for the repair since I’m pretty handy with technology and was willing to do the repair myself. The guys at the Genius Bar were so empathetic and helpful. They showed me the damage. Told me which parts needed to be replaced. And even helped me search eBay and Craig’s list for parts before I left the store. So much for that three year warranty I purchased…

Well, I haven’t repaired the thing yet – it’s partially disassembled here in the computer room. Now I am confined to the desktop – but thanks to macally’s mobile external hard disk-drive enclosure, I have access to all my files – those I backed up and those I didn’t. And thanks to .Mac syncing, I didn’t skip a beat on my email and calendar access – it’s all the same on my desktop computer or my laptop. But it’s just not the same sitting at a desk.

Maybe this is a blessing in disguise. Maybe going without a laptop will help me get off my big butt and get more active this summer, making more room on my lap for the next laptop šŸ˜‰ I’m still debating about doing the repair myself – do I sink a few hundred more dollars into an already aging laptop or do I save that money and put it towards a new one? What would you do if this happened to you?

Entry filed under: technology.

Did I miss my calling? Memorial Day

4 Comments

  • 1. Tracie  |  May 21, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Elizabeth,
    You are so funny!! Sorry to hear about the death of your beloved. My sympathies go out to you.
    As far as what you should do…well, you are talking to a dinosaur here who is technically challanged so my suggestion is: Go back to the desktop computer and a calendar you can carry around. Works for me!

    Tootles,
    T

  • 2. Barbara Wood  |  May 23, 2008 at 7:26 am

    Great story! I can picture one of my girls getting their hair straightened and the drink spilling. Stuff happens in life!

    Love you! Mom

  • 3. benjamin ady  |  May 25, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    I’m so sorry ’bout your laptop.

    My friend John Ramey says shit doesn’t just happen. He says that the implication of Romans 8:28 is that God is orchestrating the shit for our ultimate good, and thus it doesn’t just happen. I think he’s a little crazy, but there was a time when I found that comforting.

  • 4. Elizabeth Chapin  |  May 25, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Benjamin, I used to think that way, but I’ve come to think that makes lots of people crazy! Imagine a God who orchestrates everything – what happens to free will then? Yeah, I take full responsibility for setting my laptop on the table next to a big, tall glass of tonic water… Can’t blame this one on God!! Though that interpretation of Romans 8:28 would make it easy to blame everything on God šŸ˜‰

Trackback this post


Sign Up for Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Youth Ministry Conference

Speaking on October 26th at:

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Top Posts & Pages

Recent Posts

Archives

Ā© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations