If Everybody Has a Blog and Election Question

October 30, 2008 at 9:28 am 5 comments

If everybody has a blog, how do you decide which ones to read? Recently both traffic and comments have increased on my blog (slighty – just imagine if I become famous?!) When someone comments on my blog, I usually track back to their blog if they have one. As a result, I have come upon some very interesting blogs. I also suspect this is how some of my new readers found me. So, what to do with all these new and interesting blogs? Since I moved to WordPress I have not taken the time to create a blog roll, what I am reading list, etc. I don’t have links to my Facebook or twitter on here – yet. Today, I am going to work on adding some of these elements to my blog. If you are a regular reader of this blog and have a blog of your own, please comment on this post and I will add a link to your blog. I will also link to my favorite blogs, and other sources of random and sometimes interesting information on the web.

I’m hoping to be more consistent in my blogging as well, and knowing that you all are reading inspires me to keep up with my writing. I have a lot of ideas that I want to blog about, it’s just a matter of discipline and time for me to blog them. I’m still hoping for a neural implant someday that will translate my thoughts into editable text when I’m away from the computer. Many of my ideas come to me in the shower, while I’m out for a walk, or driving around running errands. So many of those ideas get lost in the busy-ness of my life. Ah well, I guess that just means the good ideas will percolate to the top and eventually make it into my blog – or perhaps they will get lost forever in the hidden recesses of my mind…

If you’ve read this far, I’d like to pose a question for you all in light of the upcoming election:

What have you learned about Christians as a result of the presidential election?

Please keep your responses to one paragraph or less, and know that if you respond your answer may end up in an upcoming Off the Map article.

Thanks for reading!

Entry filed under: blogging, politics.

Emerging Evangelism Physical Therapy AKA Pain and Torture

5 Comments

  • 1. Fogster  |  October 30, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    The one thing i’ve discovered about christians in the US as i’ve watched the elections is that there’s been a shift. In the past elections the abortion issue really held great sway. Plus there were still members of the “old guard”, the grizzled veterans of the modernist/fundamentalist debates of the 20th century. Most of these people have gone to heaven. The most recent being Jerry Falwell.

    So with the rising Emergent church movement and shift to the center by a number of younger evangelicals. The evangelical vote is no longer a monolithic/right leaning guarantee. Instead the movement has become more “diverse”. This is a good thing. The problem is the media hasn’t caught up with the shift occurring in evangelicalism.

    Ok… i think my word limit is up! But that’s what i’ve learned in a nutshell!

  • 2. cindyinsd  |  October 30, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    I’ve learned that Christians care, and they have different (sometimes rather odd, in my opinion) ways of showing it. Some of them disagree with me, and others are right. 😉

    Cindy

  • 3. Carol  |  November 3, 2008 at 9:46 am

    I’ve been reminded that fear is still a major motivation for why people vote as they do. I have learned that more evangelical Christians are questioning who they voted for in 2004 and why and that many are changing who they are voting for in 2008 because they have discovered it never aligned with God’s purposes to begin with!

  • 4. Elizabeth Chapin  |  November 4, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Fogster:

    I agree there has been a shift, but I hope we don’t just shift seeking political power from one side to another. The politics of the Kingdom of God are often in opposition with those of this world. While we are exhorted to submit to the governing authorities, loving God with all the heart, soul and might lifts allegiance to God above all human loyalties.

    Cindy:

    I appreciate your humility, unfortunately some people feel it’s more important to be right than kind. My friend Kathy Escobar gave me a T-shirt that reminds me it’s more important to be kind than right.

    Carol:

    Excellent observation about fear as a motivator. I just hope people don’t shift to something different out of fear also. I am amazed at how much fear I have surrounding my voting – especially the fear of what certain people will think of me or whether they will treat me differently based on who I vote for. I voted my heart and my conscience anyway, but my fear surprised me.

  • 5. Mark R  |  November 5, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    From here in Oz it appears the Fundie Right did not yield as much influence as they have done in the past – I think this is a good thing.

Trackback this post


Sign Up for Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Youth Ministry Conference

Speaking on October 26th at:

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Top Posts & Pages

Recent Posts

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations