Half-baked Blog Topics

December 19, 2008 at 10:21 am 3 comments

I have a few blog posts started recently, but none finished. I wanted to write about going to see “Twilight” with my teenage daughter, but that post remains unfinished. I thought about writing about fake Christian things and the mega-church proclivity for psuedo-intimacy and psuedo-community.

But mostly I’ve been musing about “dream church” – think “dream team.” I’ve been reading Frank Viola’s Remimagining Church and others who propose, sometimes subtly – sometimes blatantly, this is what the church should be like. So, for my faithful readers who have been visiting and waiting for the next topic of interest, please be patient with me. I really don’t want to post a half-baked blog on this important topic of God’s intention for the church.

On another note, it looks like I will be getting an iPhone for Christmas and learning how to use it as I travel to CA on the train for 24 hours each way over the holidays. So, if you have an iPhone and have a favorite app to recommend, or advice of any kind concerning the iPhone, please let me know. I love learning new things, so this will be fun for me – but it will also be challenging as I’m sure my kids will be begging to use the phone CONSTANTLY on the train!

Entry filed under: blogging.

Friends – Facebook, MySpace, or Friend Of … Does a Writer a Reader Make?

3 Comments

  • 1. Rick Meigs  |  December 19, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    LOL, I’ve got a directory full of half (or less) finished posts. Some are very old, but it often happens that I read something new and fresh that fits so well or brings one of those old drafts together that it almost feels like it was meant to sleep until that very moment.

    Will be interested in your take on Viola’s book. Almost ready to pick it up myself. Just finished re-reading his Pagan Christianity so I’d have that background fresh.

  • 2. Fogster  |  December 23, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Welcome to the cold, snowy, freezing state of CA! If you’re taking the train, bring a pillow and movies! And try to hang out in the lounge car. Its worth it for the view.

    As for half-baked posts! Aww the curse of the writer! I’ve stared at my blog and stared longer at my blog, waiting for a hint of inspiration to peek through. Then out of desperation, just wrote something. Then deleted it and then walked away. But sometimes… i strike gold…. sometimes!

    Thanks for sharing! If you get stuck in the north part of the state, shoot me an email, we dont mind rescuing stuck travelers, esp. in crappy weather!

    Here’s to safe journeys and Merry Christmases!

  • 3. Natasha Perera  |  March 30, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    lol!! I know what ur talking about!! going around the bush and not getting it done!! been there and still doing it!!

Trackback this post


Sign Up for Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Youth Ministry Conference

Speaking on October 26th at:

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations