Seminary Graduation and Beyond

June 3, 2011 at 5:01 pm 2 comments

George Fox Evangelical Seminary Graduation, Spring 2011

It’s been over a month since I graduated from George Fox Evangelical Seminary in Portland, OR and I’m still contemplating the most often asked question since graduation: what are you going to do now? One thing I plan to do more now that I have graduated is write for this blog. But here are a few other things that are on my heart and mind for the immediate future.

Worship: Before I started Seminary I was enrolled in the Worship Arts Conservatory. Leading worship and being a part of a worship team has always been a passion of mine. One of the reason I wanted to go to seminary was so I could write theologically rich worship songs. While I was in seminary I was able to participate on a worship team at my local church and it’s part of what sustained me. But, I really didn’t devote much time to learning or writing new music or practicing my guitar. So, I bought some new CDs and have been playing my guitar more often. It’s been very refreshing. I hope to get more involved in the worship ministry at my local church now that I am done with school.

Writing: I have about three book proposals in various stages of development. I’ve picked one to focus on this summer. I will be doing more research on the topic and finish the proposal by the end of the summer. The topic of the book is talking to girls about sex. As part of my research I will be attending a class at the University of Washington on the Psychobiology of Women. I also have a couple of songs I’d like to work on which were inspired during one of my seminary classes.

Blogging: I’m not sure how much I will be blogging during this season. There are so many things I keep telling myself I need to blog about. I expect that as those things continue to take root inside me they will eventually sprout and bloom onto my blog.

Teaching and Education: I loved Seminary. I loved the reading, the studying, the conversations with others who are in ministry and thinking theologically about life, and the writing. I am studying for the GRE so I can apply to PhD programs in the fall for entry in 2012. I am looking at Gender and Women’s Studies programs, as well as Communication. I will be teaching my first online course for George Fox Seminary in the Fall and hope to teach more in the future.

Travel: I hope to travel more in the future as well. I’d love to take another trip to China. I’d love to go on a short-term mission trip with my oldest daughter. I’m heading back east in a couple weeks for the Vineyard Seminarian Summit at Yale with Miroslav Volf. I hope to get to visit some friends from high school who still live in the NE. I’m not sure if I will make it to Woodstock on this trip, but you never know…

Family: Last, but certainly not least, I am enjoying more leisure time with my family. Strangely, I find myself doing the kitchen chores joyfully more often. Without all the pressures of deadlines for reading and online discussions looming, it feels good to do housework. I’ve also started my spring cleaning and hope to get it done before summer arrives, if it ever does! I’m watching more movies with the family, helping kids with final projects for school, and playing Wii bowling with my husband.

Graduation is called commencement for a good reason – it is more than the end of a season of studying, it is often the beginning of new and exciting things in life. This year I will also be celebrating my oldest daughter’s graduation from High School. I am looking forward to the new beginnings that will be springing up all around me soon!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sacrificing Sleep and Swimming Through Sludge Talking to Girls About Sex

2 Comments

  • 1. Jason  |  June 4, 2011 at 7:56 am

    Congratulations! 🙂

    • 2. Elizabeth Chapin  |  June 4, 2011 at 9:51 am

      Thanks!

Trackback this post


Sign Up for Newsletter!

Sign up to get email newsletter updates delivered straight to your inbox. I will send out a newsletter once or twice a year. I promise to never sell, trade, spam or do anything inappropriate with your information.
Click here to sign up!

Youth Ministry Conference

Speaking on October 26th at:

Help STOP Sex Trafficking!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

ChapinChick on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Top Posts & Pages

Recent Posts

Archives

© 2012 Chapin Chaotic Creations